1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC Specs Thread

Discussion in 'Nerd Out Zone' started by Arpak, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Imo they aren't worth the money atm, since its so freaking new you need to get new everything (CPU, Mobo, RAM) which tallies up to a whole lot.
  2. joppiesaus

    joppiesaus Infamous Space-Octopus

    • Member
    3 XL27z's?!
    Oh boy, this will be a fight for the largest rainbow-mouth!
  3. joppiesaus

    joppiesaus Infamous Space-Octopus

    • Member
    I am waiting to see a:
    • AMD FX 8350(popular, cheap and awesome CPU)
    • Either a GeForce GTX 970 or 980
    • An Intel X99(any version, thought this will be rare)
    • DDR4 RAM(right now only on a X99)
    • A potato
  4. tetryds

    tetryds cus tet, that's it

    • Member
    I have an FX 8150, it is awesome.
    I am going to buy a GTX980 or whatever is the non overpriced top GPU available in almost exactly a year from now.
  5. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Im gonna sell my 780 and buy a 980 ^>^
  6. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Jeremail actually gave me access to his amazing server recently, I dubbed it "Olympus"

    2x 12 Core 24 Thread Xeons
    128GB RAM
    640GB of usable SSD space with weird raid, cyclicly backed up to 3 1 TB HDDs
    An internet speed that makes a grown man cry
    Arpak, Oct 5, 2014
    Last edited by Jeremail; at Oct 5, 2014
    #46
  7. tetryds

    tetryds cus tet, that's it

    • Member
    ^ Y so much
  8. Jeremail

    Jeremail Dev Member

    • Dev Member
    Which is my old server...
    The new one has faster & better stuff, 10x better internet and you will never know what the specs are :devil:
    Jeremail, Oct 5, 2014
    Last edited by Jeremail; at Oct 5, 2014
    #48
  9. tetryds

    tetryds cus tet, that's it

    • Member
    SoA MMO RPG incoming.
    Gingy likes this.
  10. joppiesaus

    joppiesaus Infamous Space-Octopus

    • Member
    How about the 0.3 MB/s of my German friend? It makes even the most patient person end up at the psychologist!
  11. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Sounds like Sprint's 3G speeds >_>

    Time warner cable is making me sad too...
  12. Gingy

    Gingy Back Into Space

    • Member
    My computer is only slightly better than a potato, but I'll post my specs anyway for a bit of a laugh. Bare in mind that this is only until I can actually afford the build I'm going with.

    Case: Stock case for a Gateway 5200s
    Motherboard: Intel 915GAG
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 dual core @ 2.8ghz
    RAM: 2.5gb DDR (yep, that's how bad this thing is...)
    GPU: Nvidia Geforce GT 610 2gb vRAM(the specs for the site say 1gb, but for some reason, this one has two)
    HDD: stock 160gb @ 7200rpm

    Misc:

    Generic wireless Logitec mouse
    Segate external hard drive 3tb @ 5400rpm
    tetryds and joppiesaus like this.
  13. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Wow, thats something... It can probably run SoA hehe
  14. Gingy

    Gingy Back Into Space

    • Member
    I get between 20 and 30fps running the game with a render distance a few notches over the default settings(I think it was called "huge"). My computer also proves that the game seems to work on Windows XP machines, despite no actual support for it :p I might get a disc for Windows 7 before I start saving up for the build that will be my next computer since less and less things are supporting Windows XP.
  15. tetryds

    tetryds cus tet, that's it

    • Member
    That is great, because 0.20 will improve performance even more.
    I think it's a big deal if you keep both, at least for now, since there are lots of people who still use WindowsXP and I think that if the bugs are not too bad it would be good to get them fixed.
    The view range on SOA is pretty much massive if you compare to other games like minecraft, you have 1/8 the blocks and twice the range, or more.
    tetryds, Dec 29, 2014
    Last edited by tetryds; at Dec 29, 2014
    #55
  16. Gingy

    Gingy Back Into Space

    • Member
    I guess I'll. Keep XP installed until the game is unplayable. I do think that the rather poor specs of my computer show how well made this game is. I have a ten year old machine that can run this thing at a relatively playable state(albeit the bare minimum for my standard of playability). This same machine barely pushes 45fps with maximum graphical settings on Half Life 2.
  17. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Well I guess its time for me to do a build update, with all the tinkering I've done

    i7-4790k @ 4.2Ghz
    Kraken X61 CLC
    16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz
    2x256GB SDD (RAID 0)
    1TB HDD 7200rpm
    2TB HDD 5400rpm
    S340 Case
    MSI GTX 970 Twin Frozr V
  18. joppiesaus

    joppiesaus Infamous Space-Octopus

    • Member
    Wow! Seems like a really powerfull PC! :eek:
    As I can see in your "signature", you had a 780 Lightning first, why did you pick an 970 instead while the 780 is still pretty neat?
  19. Arpak

    Arpak Moderator - Former CM

    • Moderator
    Oh I still need to change that! I got a 970 because I sold the 780 Lightning to my sister for $200 so she could have something better than a 760, then I used that as a down payment on a 970 :)
  20. joppiesaus

    joppiesaus Infamous Space-Octopus

    • Member
    I recently made a home server:
    Case: Fractal Design Core 500
    Mobo: Asrock Q1900 ITX
    CPU: Intel Celeron J1900(On board on the mobo)
    GPU: ???
    HDD: HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB
    SSD: Samsung something something I forgot 250 GB
    NIC: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop adapter
    RAM: Crucial DDR3 8GB 1600MHz bla bla bla
    PSU: be quiet! System Power 7 300w

    I'm running Ubuntu Server 16.04 on it. It was very unstable, and I didn't really test it well, so I thought only the network was unstable because I expected it to be. Bought 2expensive4me NIC, still unstable. Turns out it's a bug in the Linux kernel, intel_idle.max_cstate=1 in the GRUB flags fixed it. It's really stable. I love it.

    I'm running Minecraft server at the moment, ssh, ArchiveTeam Warrior(in docker), deluge, Samba(it's primary goal is storage), but I ran out of ideas. Email seems really hard.

    I've learned a lot about Linux & stuff of this. I hope I do the security well, because there's precious data on the server(I have copies of it though), and it's online, xd
    PsychoticLeprechaun likes this.
Similar Threads: Specs Thread
Forum Title Date
Nerd Out Zone comp specs ideas. May 19, 2015
Nerd Out Zone PC Help Thread Jul 14, 2016
Nerd Out Zone Development/Mechanics Ideas Thread Oct 20, 2015
Nerd Out Zone Kingdom Hearts Fanboy thread Aug 31, 2015

Share This Page